Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

FictionBookclub “The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein & U Dog too

August 2, 2022 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm EDT

All doglovers & dogs are invited to join my coed bookclub on Tuesday, August 2nd to discuss deeply funny, uplifting, captivating compassionate novel made into a movie,”The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein.

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver. Through Denny, Enzo has gained tremendous insight into the human condition, and he sees that life, like racing, isn’t simply about going fast. On the eve of his death, Enzo takes stock of his life, recalling all that he and his family have been through. A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope, The Art of Racing in the Rain is a beautifully crafted and captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life … as only a dog could tell it.

We’ll enjoy a stimulating & fun discussion with wonderful booklover company,while enjoying a virtual happy.I can’t wait til I see you if I have the privilege on August 2 & our prior bookclubs if we’re fortunate.

Reviews

It’s impossible not to love Enzo.” Minneapolis Star Tribune

“This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.” Sara Gruen

“One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, and Yann Martel’s Life of Pi.” Portland Oregonian

“Splendid.” People (3 ½ out of 4 stars)

“Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.” Entertainment Weekly

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn’t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls…meant for each other never really comes to an end.” Jodi Picoult

Details

Date:
August 2, 2022
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm EDT
Website:
https://www.meetup.com/activedogs-75/events/282874745

Venue

Online event

Log In

Forgot password?

Don't have an account? Register

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.